

NEWS RELEASE: FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE May 10, 2024 **CONTACT:** Jasmine Mines Email: <u>pr@vacul.org</u>

# Virginia Credit Union League Announces Prestigious Award Winners at 2024 IGNITE | League Annual Meeting

**RICHMOND, Va**. — The Board of the Virginia Credit Union League is proud to announce the recipients of the League's most distinguished awards, which were presented at the recent IGNITE | League Annual Meeting. These awards celebrate individuals who have demonstrated outstanding commitment and contribution to the credit union movement in Virginia.

Please join us in congratulating our incredible award winners.

#### Eugene H. Farley Award of Excellence: Chris Williams



The Eugene H. Farley Award of Excellence is awarded to an individual who has made substantial contributions over a period of two or three years. This year's recipient, Chris Williams, CEO of

Henrico Federal Credit Union, Henrico, VA has exemplified exceptional leadership and dedication to advancing the credit union mission on a local, state, and national level.

Chris has led Henrico Federal Credit Union through numerous strategic initiatives that have substantially improved operational efficiency and member services. In just two years, Chris has transformed Henrico FCU, growing assets from \$53 million to over \$432 million and expanding membership to 30,614 individuals. His initiatives, including the Financial Empowerment Center, have promoted financial literacy and community support, while his advocacy for participation lending has diversified services and increased flexibility for growth.

Chris currently serves on the VACUL Board and previously serving as Board Chairman. His leadership at the League and commitment to empowering communities have made him a respected figure in the credit union community and very deserving of this prestigious award.



## James P. Kirsch Lifetime Achievement Award: Stan P. Leicester II

The James P. Kirsch Lifetime Achievement Award honors Stan P. Leicester II, Executive Vice President of BayPort Credit Union, Newport News, VA this year for his significant contributions throughout his career. Stan has played a pivotal role in the growth and success of BayPort Credit Union, demonstrating exemplary leadership and commitment to the community.

Stan has worked at Bayport CU for over 40 years at BayPort with his leadership helping to drive the institution's growth from \$100 million to \$2.4 billion in assets. His forward-thinking initiatives, including the BayPort Insurance Agency, LLC, and BayPort Financial Investment Advisors, reshaped the organization. Stan's community impact programs, including the Student-Run Credit Union, benefit thousands of students and teachers annually. His advocacy extends beyond Bayport, with significant contributions to the credit union industry in Virginia including serving on the League Board, including as chairman,

and being instrumental in the creation of the Credit Union House of Virginia. Stan leaves a legacy of being a transformative leadership at both Bayport CU and the credit union industry.



### James P. Kirsch Lifetime Achievement Award: Jeff Moscicki

The late Jeffery Moscicki, former Chairman of UVA Community Credit Union in Charlottesville, VA, was honored with the James P. Kirsch Lifetime Achievement Award. In his place, his widow, Mrs. Janet Moscicki, and sons, J.C. and Jarod Moscicki, received the award.

Jeff served a volunteer at UVA Community CU for nearly thirty years, most recently as Board Chairman. Under Jeff's leadership the credit union grew significantly from \$130 million to over \$1.4 billion in assets. He introduced impactful initiatives like the Scholarship Program, offering \$62,500 in scholarships annually to graduating high school seniors. Jeff also organized energy-saving initiatives, financial literacy programs, and community partnerships, leaving a lasting legacy of impact and service. His vision and dedication will be remembered and cherished by colleagues and peers in the industry for years to come.

#### **Red Scarf Award: Chris Anuswith**



The Red Scarf Award is a newly created honor designed to recognize significant impact on state and/or federal credit union advocacy within the Commonwealth of Virginia. This year, the inaugural award went to Chris Anuswith, VP of Risk Management at ABNB Credit Union, in Chesapeake, VA acknowledging his influential work on advocacy projects and his continued leadership in grassroots advocacy and VACUPAC fundraising.

Chris has worked in the credit union since 1991 when he became CEO/President of Guardian FCU in 1991. His leadership in credit union advocacy was instrumental in defending Field of Membership regulations, leading to the passage of HR-1151, a pivotal moment for credit unions nationwide. His advocacy also helped secure federal preemption for FCUs regarding fee refunds. Chris has been a strong and vocal leader of VACUL's advocacy efforts, serving on League's Governmental Affairs Committee, promoting VACUPAC, and helping to create the current State-Wide Advocacy Committee. As a partially retired VP of Risk Management at ABNB Credit Union, Anuswith remains committed to member interests and community welfare, leaving a lasting impact on the credit union industry.

On Anuswith's behalf, the award was accepted by newly-elected League board member, Charlie Mallon, of ABNB FCU.

The Virginia Credit Union League congratulates all the award recipients. Their achievements reflect the strength and resilience of the credit union community in Virginia.

#### About The League

The Virginia Credit Union League is the state trade association representing the 99 memberowned, not-for-profit credit unions headquartered in the Commonwealth. Celebrating its 90th anniversary this year, the League provides regulatory, political, and public advocacy; professional development; and a range of informational and operational resources to ensure a thriving credit union industry since 1934. Learn more at vacul.org.

###